LONDON BOROUGH OF TOWER HAMLETS

MINUTES OF THE APPEALS COMMITTEE

HELD AT 7.30 P.M. ON MONDAY, 16 JUNE 2014

COMMITTEE ROOM 1, 1ST FLOOR, TOWN HALL, MULBERRY PLACE, 5 CLOVE CRESCENT, LONDON, E14 2BG

Members Present:

Councillor Marc Francis Councillor John Pierce Councillor Helal Uddin Councillor Asma Begum Councillor Abjol Miah Councillor Andrew Wood Councillor Muhammad Ansar Mustaquim

Other Councillors Present:

None.

Apologies:

Councillor Harun Miah Councillor Md. Maium Miah

Officers Present:

Graham White Jacinta Gasson-Mulcahy Nishaat Ismail (Interim Head of Legal Operations) (Senior Manager – HR Consultancy) (Committee Officer, Democratic Services, Directorate Law Probity and Governance) (Committee Officer, Directorate Law, Probity and Governance)

Zoe Folley

1. ELECTION OF VICE - CHAIR FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2014/2015

RESOLVED

That Councillor John Pierce be appointed Vice-Chair of the Appeals Committee for the remainder of the Municipal Year 2014/15.

2. DECLARATIONS OF DISCLOSABLE PECUNIARY INTERESTS

There were no declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests.

3. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

RESOLVED

That the unrestricted minutes of the meeting of the Appeals Committee held on 24 June 2013 be agreed as a correct record.

4. **REPORTS FOR CONSIDERATION**

4.1 Appeals Committee Terms of Reference, Membership and Quorum (AP/001/1415)

Members considered the report. In response to questions, Officers clarified the timescale for circulating the agendas for meetings to Members.

RESOLVED:

To note the Terms of Reference and Quorum of the Appeals Committee and the Membership (as appointed at the Annual General Meeting of Full Council on 11 June 2014).

4.2 Establishment of Employee Appeals Sub Committee (AP/002/1415)

RESOLVED:

That the Appeals Committee establish an Employee Appeals Sub Committee for the municipal year 2014/15 with the attached terms of reference (Appendix A) and hearing structure.

5. ANY OTHER BUSINESS WHICH THE CHAIRS CONSIDERS TO BE URGENT

None.

The meeting ended at 7.40 p.m.

Chair, Appeals Committee